Salesman for a Better World

I like to consider myself an advocate for the more beautiful world our hearts tell us is possible.  A salesman offering comprehensive after-sales support for those invested in making that transition. It’s a voluntary position motivated by my own self-interest because I want to live in that world which is slowly coming into view… a world of justness, love and compassion.

Five years ago I had a successful business running a bilingual nursery, organising family festivals, making music and living in a beautiful house in Brighton earning good money getting paid to look after my own children.  This is the closest I’ve ever come to being normal, my parents were as proud as punch… finally I was married with children with my own childcare business, all I needed was a mortgage and a pension.  However, I was acutely aware of the role I was playing in order to be commercially viable and in order to be accepted in an economic world in which I felt like a stranger.

As the strain of conforming to the demands of modern life began to show, the cracks in the relationship with my wife began to open up until one day, whilst debating how many days holiday we were going to take the following year… we realised that the lives we were living were not meeting our deepest human needs… and to the dismay of our parents… and our clients… we decided to close the nursery and I began an intensive period of research trying to locate the source of our discontent.

Not long after that significant day… I participated in a workshop where I was asked to consider what I would be doing with my life if I could truly listen to my inner voice. I was encouraged to identify the fearful voices that prevented me from following my inner calling. That’s when I realised that huge amounts of my energy was being devoted to fulfilling all sorts of obligations and expectations for which I could see no logical sense.  I was struggling to pay taxes to fund wars that I didn’t agree with.  I was having to jump through hoops to tick boxes for all sorts of external ‘authorities” I didn’t believe in.  I was going to court to fight battles in a corrupt legal system for the right to self determination. I was working hard to repay loans which I’d discovered were fraudulent from the outset.  All of these restrictions imposed by our society distract us from investing our time in what really matters and the changes that can be made to develop the more beautiful world our hearts tell us is possible.

Ever since, I have devoted myself to being the change I wish to see in this world and to help co-create a more sane experience of modern life.

Published by

mrpower

Passionately living the dream of life.

Leave a Reply

